Your Story Is Unique. Embrace It.

Every decade of your life has a theme. I’ve come to the conclusion that the theme for my twenties is probably actually my life theme. Which is this: Your Story is Unique. Embrace it.

If you’re like me, every once in awhile you get in these “funks”. Where you think everyone around you is progressing in life and you are “lagging” behind. A couple summers ago I got really into running. Every night I had a date with the pavement. I treasured them because I always had life revelations. Usually I went running by myself because it was good thinking- I could run as long as I wanted without worrying about anyone. However, being the extrovert that I am one night I invited a friend to go running with me. The whole run we kept a similar pace, at points I’d be in the lead and then at other points she’d take the lead. I remember distinctly at one point in my run my friend was a couple paces a head of me– and I heard that still soft voice say “Your life is unique. Embrace It. Don’t look at where you are at in life and compare it to where someone else is at. Everyone’s journey is different.” The night’s run was an analogy for life. Just like that night’s run where there were times my friend was “ahead” of me or I was “ahead” of her  – we are two different people with different strengths and abilities. While the hill we encountered was a breeze for me, I watched her take a little bit longer to conquer it. Though we ran the same course- we were two different people who were having two completely different experiences during that run.

The same is for life. Yes, we are all on this earth together but each of us have different experiences. That’s what makes life so beautiful. Call it human nature or whatever you want, but for some reason we as humans sometimes get in the mindset that life is a race and treat it like competition. We get in the comparison game so easily. On the outside looking in we see someone’s life “taking off” and we wonder why ours seem so “stagnant”. Ever been there?

Lord knows I have. Living in Tulsa, Oklahoma for seven years it was easy to play that game. I’d see my friends leave Tulsa and head for big cities across the world and I’d wonder why on earth the Lord wasn’t re-locating me to some extravagant place like New York City. Often times, especially at the beginning and end of my time in Tulsa I questioned if God knew what He was doing. I’d question why I was “waisting” my time there. If you think about it– it’s kinda funny. I mean, I was questioning the creator of the Universe.

Time for a little Biblical side note:

I love the conversation that the Lord has with Job it completely applies to this.

Ready? This is what the Lord says:

“Where were you when I created the earth? Tell me, since you know so much! Who decided on it’s size? Certainly you’ll know that. Who came up with the blueprints and measurements? How was its foundation poured, and who set the cornerstone while the morning stars sang in chorus and all the angels shouted praise? And who took charge of the ocean when it gushed forth like a baby from a womb? That was me! I wrapped it in soft clouds, and tucked it in safely at night. Have you ordered every Morning, ‘Get up!’ told Dawn, ‘Get to work!’ Do you know where Light comes from and where Darkness lives so you can take them by the hand and lead them home when they get lost? Are you the one who gave the hours his prowess and adorned him with a shimmering mane? Did you create him to prance proudly and strike terror with his royal snorts? Was to through your know-how that the hawk learned to fly, soaring effortless on thermal updrafts? Did you command the eagle’s flight, and teach her to build her nest in the heights, perfectly at home on the high cliff face? I am in charge of all this – I run this universe!”

[Job 38-41]

Major conviction, right? We question God as if we know better, yet He is the one who came up with the blueprints for the world we live in. Lord knows, if Leonardo Da Vince were still on this earth I would never try to tell him how to create a masterpiece. art was his area of expertise. In the same way, God’s forte is intricately weaving all the details of our lives together in order to create a beautiful masterpiece.

So here is my challenge to not only myself but to you as well:

Let us begin embracing where we are in our lives. Let’s not miss out or discount our stories by comparing our lives to others. Let’s experience life to the fullest by embracing the fact that our stories are unique and trusting that our God, creator for the Universe, is working out every detail of our lives into a brilliant masterpiece.

Be Inspired + Create

Leave a Reply

